London Law & Finance

London Law & Finance Seminar Series

Next event:

18 May Vicente Cuñat
(LSE Finance)

Managerial Response to Shareholder Empowerment: Evidence from Majority Voting Legislation Changes

(paper available here)
Discussants:
Andrew Baker (Stanford)
Edmund Schuster (LSE Law)

About

This is the webpage of the London Law & Finance Seminar Series. The organisers of the seminar series are Carsten Gerner-Beuerle (UCL), Marc Moore (UCL) and Edmund Schuster (LSE).

Events 2021

The London Law & Finance Seminar Series will commence in January 2021. Detailed information about the seminars will be available soon. In the meantime, if you would like to join the mailing list to be notified of future events, please click here or contact one of the organisers (Carsten Gerner-Beuerle, Marc Moore, Edmund Schuster).

All seminars are scheduled for 1pm - 2:30pm London time, except for those marked with an asterisk, which will start at 6pm London time.

The following events have been scheduled for early 2021 so far (all events to be held via Zoom):

Videos

Video recordings of past events are available here; they are also linked to below.

Lent Term 2021

Date Speaker Paper
19 January 2021 Renée B Adams
(Saïd Business School, Oxford)

Shareholders and Stakeholders Around the World

(paper available here) [Slides]
Discussants:
Daniel Metzger (Erasmus University Rotterdam) [Slides]
Carsten Gerner (UCL) [Slides]
2 February 2021 Cathy Hwang
(UVA Law)

The Social Cost of Contract

(paper available here)
Discussants:
Paul S Davies (UCL)
Martin Gelter (Fordham)
16 February 2021 Florian Ederer
(Yale School of Management)

Common Ownership, Competition, and Top Management Incentives

(paper available here)
Discussants:
Vicente Cuñat (LSE Finance)
David Kershaw (LSE Law)
2 March 2021*
(6pm London time)
Andrew Baker
(Stanford)

Staggered Difference-in-Differences in Corporate Research

(paper available here )
Discussants:
Pedro Sant'Anna (Dept. of Economics, Vanderbilt University)
Edmund Schuster (LSE Law)
16 March 2021
6 pm London time (1 pm EST / 10 am PST / 7 pm CET)
Dorothy S. Lund
(USC Gould School of Law)

The Corporate Governance Machine

(paper available here)
Discussants:
Georg Ringe (University of Hamburg)
Sue Konzelmann (Birkbeck, University of London - Department of Management)

Summer Term 2021

Date Speaker Paper
4 May 2021 Irene-Marie Esser & Iain MacNeil
(both University of Glasgow)

From a Financial to an Enterprise Model of ESG Investing

(paper available here)
Discussants:
Eva Micheler (LSE)
Stephen Park (University of Connecticut School of Business)
18 May Vicente Cuñat
(LSE Finance)

Managerial Response to Shareholder Empowerment: Evidence from Majority Voting Legislation Changes

(paper available here)
Discussants:
Andrew Baker (Stanford)
Edmund Schuster (LSE Law)

If you are interested in presenting your research in the series, please contact Carsten Gerner-Beuerle, Marc Moore, or Edmund Schuster.